Eat Your Cereal

I’ve always been fond of metaphors, though I think to have a true appreciation you have to be willing to change your perspective. Lately, I have both become more fond of cereal, and God has used it to show me something. Also, having recently begun Lent, I thought I would

Every January, my church does a fast as a congregation. During the fast, I gave up a number of food items; sweets, soda, and the lot, and cereal was naturally included. I don’t know why, but I find that it can be a relaxing afternoon snack. So during the fast, I was left strangely craving cereal–something I would not have expected. So eventually, when I broke my fast, I broke it with a bowl of cereal. With that, the bowl of cereal became for me the symbol of spiritual blessing, or something that had more depth and meaning, something that connected me to God on a personal level. With this, I was inspired with a metaphor, and one that really applied to me. Every blessing, every wonder and moment, every truth–it’s like a bowl of cereal. For everyone, it is surely different, but for me cereal is a symbol of a truly meaningful blessing.

Granted, it is mildly strange to be comparing my family to bowls of cereal, and I can’t deny that there wasn’t any humor meant to be involved. But either way, the fast helped me to gain a perspective of thankfulness I had never experienced before. I was able to look past the Thanksgiving thankful list, and see that there is so much more to be thankful. We have all been placed in positions by which we can live for Christ as he would live. Personally, I had never seen the places, people, and opportunities I had been given until that fast–until I looked around and saw that I was surrounded by cereal.

We have blessings, honors, and wonders in our lives, but those naturally come with responsibility. We need to embrace those opportunities, to eat your cereal if you will. Having been given such things we have to make use of them. That’s just one of the reasons that we fast. We remember our responsibilities as we gain perspective and knowledge.

 …indeed, if you call out for insight, and cry aloud for understanding, and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God.” Proverbs 2:3-5

It’s a pretty great honor to have “knowledge of God”, so it takes a truly humbled heart and cry to hear God’s inspiration. That humility is one part of fasting. Just as well, it’s easy to look for riches or the things we desire with eagerness, but if we look for fear of the Lord and the knowledge of God, we can find those things which are far more valuable (and honestly it’s probably easier than getting rich).

The things we are blessed with in life arte so often overlooked. We are blessed with more than just worldly things, or more than just family even. We are blessed with the opportunities and possibilities we are given, and we have to take advantage. We have to humble ourselves to seek God. We remember our responsibilities as we pursue the fear of the Lord. So, don’t leave it on your shelf. Eat your cereal.

Posted on February 26, 2012, in Geeks on Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

