Fruity Spirit: Love

Last week, I introduced our new series: Fruity Spirit. This week, we’re talking about the first fruit of the Spirit, love. We’ll continue our series right on down through every fruit on the tree, so hang around…

Love isn’t just a wonderful thing that God gives and shows us, it is required of us to give it as Christians. Giving love is definitely a big part of our faith – though the biggest part of our walk with God is loving God.

If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” 1 Corinthians 13:1-7

I really like these verses, because they talk about what true love is. The passage explains that when you talk and teach about God, but don’t love God,  you don’t really believe what you’re saying.  If you give everything you own, but you don’t love it, doesn’t mean anything. Lastly, love is so incredible that it can be an amazing gift of prosperity that God gave us. Does the love in your life look like that?

God loved us so much to give us his son, and that’s the ultimate love. God calls us now to reflect that love by loving others enough to show them Christ’s love! You get that? We are called to love God and to love people, and without first having love, everything else you do is worthless. We can live a life of love by doing good things, being the good Samaritan, living the golden rule, and I think you get the idea.

Don’t forget to check in next week for my post on joy!

Posted on October 11, 2012, in Geeks on Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

